Can’t believe you were once just like anyone else then you grew and became like the devil himself

SPOILER ALERT!! If you haven’t seen the film American History X, and want to, don’t watch this video.

Katie Renee of Discovering Different has a post “Song of the week.”

This is my song of the past 4 days and probably at least the next 3. So perhaps it is my song of the week.

I heard the Placebo cover first, then found the original.

It’s just being played on repeat now.

The lyrics are so perfect. You could say, I’d like to dedicate it to a special someone.

Archive – Fuck U / American History X

There’s a look on your face I would like to knock out

See the sin in your grin and the shape of your mouth

All I want is to see you in terrible pain

Though we won’t ever meet I remember your name

Can’t believe you were once just like anyone else

Then you grew and became like the devil himself

Pray to god I think of a nice thing to say

But I don’t think I can so fuck you anyway

You are scum, you are scum and I hope that you know

That the cracks in your smile are beginning to show

Now the world needs to see that it’s time you should go

There’s no light in your eyes and your brain is too slow

Can’t believe you were once just like anyone else

Then you grew and became like the devil himself

Pray to god I can think of a nice thing to say

But I don’t think I can so fuck you anyway

Bet you sleep like a child with your thumb in your mouth

I could creep up beside put a gun in your mouth

Makes me sick when I hear all the shit that you say

So much crap coming out it must take you all day

Theres a space kept in hell with your name on the seat

With a spike in the chair just to make it complete

When you look at yourself do you see what I see

If you do why the fuck are you looking at me

Why the fuck are you looking at me   x2

Why the fuck why the fuck are you looking at me   x2

There’s a time for us all and I think yours has been

Can you please hurry up cos I find you obscene

We can’t wait for the day that you’re never around

When that face isn’t here and you rot underground

 Can’t believe you were once just like anyone else

Then you grew and became like the devil himself

Pray to god I can think of a nice thing to say

But I don’t think I can so fuck you anyway

So fuck you anyway   x11

And perhaps, that special someone, perhaps it should be myself.

Great song. Will do a cover soon.

8 thoughts on “Can’t believe you were once just like anyone else then you grew and became like the devil himself

  1. Funny never knew it was a cover….hard for me to adjust…as you probably know from my posts, I love Placebo….should have realised….thanks – if I am honest (but why would I do that) this version probably is better. I might believe it one day.

  2. Powerful song. Your blog certainly never lacks variety! I hope you’re feeling a bit better since writing/listening to that. Sometimes it helps to get it out. I told Katie once about a secret letter that I wrote which I just couldn’t bring myself to publish on my blog, but (as I recall) it started something like this – “Dear S**T HEAD, you are rubbish. Yes, that is the truth. Just accept it.” It went on … and on … and on. Felt really good. Hope this post made you feel a bit better.

  3. Ooooo that’s a right angry song you’ve got there! I like it. I like it a lot. I’m sure I’d be in love with it if I were not full of cookies and nestled in a blanket nest. Hard to be mad when you are in a cocoon. I hope you feel a bit better, and I think it would be pretty cool if you did a song of the week or half week or really whatever. You can learn so much about people through the music they listen to, and I love music waaay too much. I’ll remember this song for in the future if I get super pissed. 🙂

Leave a Reply

