The Hangover

Patterns repeating

With roles reversed.

I am her and you are me,

Then you are me and I am someone else.

How did it come to this?

The one who I thought started it,

She didn’t.

It started long ago.

A hangover from a forgotten age.

There is no quick fix.

No eureka moment.

Just a slow, steady trickle

Of things you refuse to deal with.

And every time it happens.

Again.

Similarly but differently.

Echoes diffusing over time.

Memories blocked for fear of pain.

New pain induced to disguise old pain.

Pain you didn’t even know you felt the first time around.

You realise what to do.

It slips your mind.

An unconscious slip.

Suppressing motion.

Burying spirit.

Bright red, dark red, shit-coloured brown.

Blood released.

Dries and fades.

Dries and fades.

Dries and fades.

Assume foetal position.

Ignorance is bliss.

10 thoughts on “The Hangover

  1. Love the intensity here….interesting form too – with good sound. You have a musical ear as we know already of course….Was she really worth it? Was she really that good….I guess so. I guess you have raked over some memories today…thank you…as ever. If you like hugs, I send you some, but I suspect you don’t….lol.

  2. Forgot to say I like the poem…I am such a dick…I start a post and then forget to say what I went there to say.

  3. Awesome. I tried poetry a bit a while ago and I have to say…no comparison. By far. Now I’m going to have to curl up in a ball in the corner, thinking I could pull off poetry haha. Keep up the great work 🙂

  4. ” A hangover from a forgotten age”
    – LOVE that line. Best line ever.

    Such emotion in this poem, made it very intense. I like the way the words flows too. I agree with writingthebody It has a very musical feel to it. Think it’s more lyrics than poem. Love it either way 🙂

Leave a Reply

