Limb by limb

It doesn’t matter as long as I know.
I don’t have to prove it to anyone.
Our fingertips aren’t touching,
I can’t hear your breath or see it mist.
I shouldn’t punish myself for feeling
But I do.

I’ve built it up, brick by brick,
Cement mixed from the crushed bones of your ancestors
And the milk from your breast.
I don’t want this life anymore.
Torture pains me,
Saltwater stings my eyes.

There is no medicinal cure,
The placebo has long since worn off.
This position I’ve been put in,
Limbs folded, uncomfortably, into some shape of your design,
Was unnecessary.

And I’m sorry if it is depressing for you to read this,
It is depressing for me to feel this.
I shouldn’t punish myself for feeling
But oh, I do.

One thought on “Limb by limb

  1. I keep vowing I will not write here.,…but I cannot help it. I know you punish yourself…I know. Even though we love you!

Leave a Reply

